Fail/Pass

So,

I didn’t take down Christmas. I have decided that instead of being embarrassed about this I will try to pass the decorations off as a legitimate treatment for Seasonal Defective Disorder (or whatever). Anyway, they are pretty, so there.

img_0411

I will say in my defense, I got some other things done. I made dinner, like for real and in amounts enough for lunch, including a bonus pot of beans. I cooked them in leftover potato water. Is that weird? I’ll let ya know when I taste them, but it was just sitting there all potato-y and I couldn’t bring myself to pour it down the drain. hmmm.

img_0432

This was actually two dinners for two plus lunch for one. yay.

This was actually two dinners for two plus lunch for one. yay.

I also completed my first “no knead” bread. I followed the very “Elsie” directions I got from Elsie and then looked at the “real” directions and figured the Elsie ones worked fine. I may try shaping the dough a bit next time to see if it makes a difference. I used 2 cups local flour and one cup bread flour the KP brought me back from a mill in Georgia. How could you not like bread that requires NO WORK!!

Fresh. Still in the dutch oven I baked it in.

Fresh. Still in the dutch oven I baked it in.

img_0431

Yum. We ate it with local raw butter. I made crostini with the store bought loaf that was stale and had to be booted from the bread box. They were also good and devoured in total tonight before dinner by a certain someone I know who was really hungry. So, I didn’t do any laundry but I did tidy a bit and get a few important meetings taken care of. It is the little things.

xo,

LB

7 Responses to “Fail/Pass”


  1. 1 Fatbiscuit January 13, 2009 at 2:01 pm

    yum. i need to get a nice big cast iron skillet. i’ve started to wonder about ingesting huge quantities of Teflon every day. is that a le creuset casserole? xo

  2. 2 little babushka January 13, 2009 at 3:26 pm

    Yes you do. Sometimes second hand is good. Already “broken in”.
    Also, yes it is le creuset! My new pretty.

  3. 3 starrhillgirl January 13, 2009 at 9:53 pm

    That bread looks just like mine does! When I remember to make it.

  4. 4 the kingpin January 14, 2009 at 1:16 am

    was there the faint hint of georgia in the bread?

  5. 6 elsie January 17, 2009 at 12:20 am

    I am making some now! Good excuse to turn on the oven!

  6. 7 Lea January 19, 2009 at 2:56 pm

    I love that no-knead bread! And it does seem cruel to have to take down the cheery decorations just as darkest wintertime is actually setting in. We got a live tree which, though de-ornamented and de-lit, is still sitting in the living room, now trying to burst into tiny pine cones.
    xo


Leave a Reply

