County Fair

Stank and I hit the county fair the other night. Last year we went during the day but the night time is right time. All those lights! So pretty! First order of business was a giant scary sausage thing for Stank. It looked kinda gross but I don’t eat meat and he seemed very happy, so I reckon it was good. After getting our hands on some shifty looking meat (hee!) we headed in the direction of the critters, which are the best part of the county fair if yer asking me. We eyed all the baby critters, cows, goats, pigs. All the chickens and bunnies. I asked Stank to buy me a baby duck but said I could make do with a baby chick or a bunny. Nothing doin. I don’t know what his problem was. I thought me getting an animal and letting it live on his farm was a genius idea. Guess I was the only one. After petting the baby ducks and watching the baby pigs sleep in a pig pile, we headed to the big critter tents. We looked at all the giant cows and big fat pigs and admired all the ribbon winners and the little 4-H kids and petted the horses.

Then we washed our hands.

After taking in all the animals we headed to the rides. I prefer to watch. We did take a ride on the Ferris wheel which was great, and same as last year, came with a slightly scary ride operator. We watched all the teen boys winning big silly prizes for their girls. I noticed that the girls looked %50 proud of their gifts and %50 embarrassed to carry them around.

We capped the night with a funnel cake, which we ate while listening to the band, and a last look at the baby animals. It was a beautiful night. It cooled right down and there was a gorgeous breeze. So far, highlight of the Summer.

xo,

LB

4 Responses to “County Fair”


  1. 1 kp August 2, 2008 at 6:49 pm

    bush (that’s my new nickname for you), you did such a great job describing the county fair that i’m gonna skip it this year. that’s right–i don’t even NEED to drag my 3 3/4 year old in the oppressive heat, because you had a better time than i am capable of at this point in my life.

  2. 2 little babushka August 2, 2008 at 6:52 pm

    I’ll show ya a nickname.

  3. 3 starrhillgirl August 3, 2008 at 12:27 pm

    It looks like you’ll have to be the Fair Rep for all of us. Even my mama couldn’t get me to go. And I’ll buy you a duck, baby, don’t you worry.

  4. 4 fatbiscuit August 3, 2008 at 11:58 pm

    county fair. wow. that’s ballsy! i would just look at baby animals and then skip the rides. last time i went to a county fair, i puked after a long ride on the apple turnover. there’s nothing fun about nausea.


Leave a Reply

