Dinner.

Stank made me dinner last night. Or rather, Stank said he would make me dinner because I was in a foul mood and didn’t want to cook but we couldn’t afford to go out. I actually wound up helping because it is always more fun once you get started. We had the local tofu fried up with squash, zucchini, onion and garlic scapes.  We had yummy potatoes that were red skinned but violet on the inside and deeeeelicious. Also, some cucumber and tomatoes chunks in oil and vinegar.

Things I got from my CSA: Potatoes, tomatoes, green pepper, yellow squash, onions, zucchini, peaches, cucumber, cabbage. Also, I bought eggs and basil.

Things I need to make: chocolate beet cake (lookin at you Starrhillgirl). The beets are giving me VERY threatening looks at this point. Also, cheese! I am curious to see what kind of mess we can make out of that.

7 Responses to “Dinner.”


  1. 1 The Herbwife July 21, 2008 at 6:32 pm

    I want to know how the chocolate beet cake comes out. I’ve never thought of that, and now I’m curious. So curious, in fact, that I may have to try it soon. Were you going to grate up the beet a la carrot cake?

  2. 2 fatbiscuit July 22, 2008 at 12:48 am

    can you not just leave out the beet and make a nice chocolate cake instead? i’m just sayin’. . .

  3. 3 cidrolan July 22, 2008 at 10:26 pm

    hmm. I’m with fatbiscuit. Add grated carrot and raisins, substitute carob for chocolate and honey for sugar, throw in some soybeans and tabouli, and I’m fairly sure my mother made it circa 1984.

    Still, I’m usually wrong.

  4. 4 The Herbwife July 22, 2008 at 10:38 pm

    He is usually wrong.

    I’m thinking red velvet cake.

    Lots of chocolate.

    Nothing our mothers would have imagined in 1984.

  5. 5 starrhillgirl July 23, 2008 at 12:10 am

    Ok, ok, I’m on it! I’ll even bring my food processor to grate those beets, because I love an appliance. (Heh.)

    Trivia: one of my parents used to call me Beets. Game: guess which one.

  6. 7 lb July 23, 2008 at 9:41 pm

    I’ll go with your dad. Tho, that little mother of yours can be surprising!


Leave a Reply

