Your Dream home

What is it?

Mine would be a cottage or a cabin with a nice piece of land. It would also, somehow, be close enough to town that I could still walk to work/coffee/food/wine. I would have a couple extra buildings. Yurts, I think. One of the Yurts would be a bath house with a giant sunken stone tub, big enough to really float around in. It would also have two shower heads on the wall that would just be out in the open in the room draining into a spot on the tile floor. There would be a porch with a hot tub and an outdoor shower. I would have another yurt that was a guest house. Small but full of light with a bathroom and a little kitchen where my charming visitors could make their morning coffee without having to be friendly first thing. I would have another yurt that would just be a big open room for training and theatre making. Oddly this dream house comes complete with the dream me!

This me raises chickens and tends to them and retrieves eggs daily. I have the time and interest to tend a wonderful vegetable garden, from which I get all my produce and also store food for the winter. I also (damn I’m good) have a lovely flower bed, separate from the gorgeous landscaping, from which I pick fresh flowers every couple of days. There is a large Laurel bush for protection. I bake bread every few days. Why buy when you can make! I am able to employ ALL the useful hints and tips from REAL SIMPLE.

I love Dream me!

4 Responses to “Your Dream home”


  1. 1 elsie January 17, 2008 at 10:07 pm

    OMG. We are the same dream person! My dream house is the same but sub small cottages with English style gardens for the yurts and a sewing studio for the theater space and it is practically identical. Did you include that the job that you walk to is high paying, low stress and personally rewarding?

  2. 2 little babushka January 17, 2008 at 10:18 pm

    I tend to forget the part about making money. That is somewhat true in my real life too. Maybe I am coming closer to my fantasy?

  3. 3 starrhillgirl January 28, 2008 at 11:32 pm

    I love the dream you, too!

  4. 4 christos March 11, 2008 at 10:36 am

    dream big… i dream of a minimalist cube in the middle of the forest that is all windows and ivy has grown around all over it. and i dream of a warehouse/studio/gallery space where i can make huge paintings and not have to worry about making a big mess. and the dream me has lots of money to buy art supplies in bulk.. and i grow tomatoes and watermelon… and i make my dad’s spanakopita with hand rolled filo dough. but mostly these days i just dream about cleaning my apartment and losing 50 pounds 🙂


Leave a Reply

