i’m a bad, bad bloggrrrll

You know the best part of having hot pink hair? Sometimes, like today, I’ll be driving slowly through a parking lot, say, at the grocery store and a stranger will see me and he/she (usually a she, though) will burst out laughing. I love that. Somehow I don’t feel laughed at–I feel like I cheered someone up or woke them from their humdrum errand mind. I might just be blowing smoke up my own arse though and maybe they’re laughing AT me. Hard.
I’ve been feeling, as is my wont, a lot of angst and embarrassment and guilt for not posting much on the blog. Here’s the deal: KP [i’m best in the 3rd person] is great at starting things and has a whole lot of trouble seeing them through without other people. What I’m saying is, LB, please start nagging me!!!! All the time!!!! Ask me, “KP, you sexy stallion, have you blogged today?” Like, when I’m brushing my teeth or taking out my contact lenses or kissing my collection of Dukes of Hazzard action figures before I go to bed. It needs to be part of a routine. I admire my friends doing the NoBlowMe thing. Okay, one friend.

Also, here are a host of other excuses/reasons why KP hasn’t been holding her own on this here blog project:

  1. Starting and continuing too many other projects (this is the job of the KP, after all): Miss Representation, Dido tour and workshop, PEP, the FreeDome [news on this coming soon], the IS (who is becoming less and less Insolent–we might need a new moniker that bespeaks her goofiness and spazziness), and let us not forget CLAW (charlottesville lady arm wrestlers)
  2. After I get the IS all tucked in (which entails toileting, pajamery, teeth-brushing, mirror “work,”sink spitting, story reading, backrubbing, song-singing, cassette tape loading, excuse shooting-down, kissing, hugging, etc.) my ass is T-I-R-E-D. Ask LB. I’ve become a blob after 9 p.m. Still recovering from Shentai which ended 5 months ago. And maybe all the weight lifting I’ve been doing to prepare for CLAW (coming to the Blue Moon Diner in 08!).
  3. Fear of writing poorly. I know, that’s lame because approximately 3 people read this blog. And you gotta start somewhere. And those 3 people are my adored people.
  4. Ambivalence about blogs in general. I keep thinking, when I think of posting, shouldn’t i be applying my time to something more Significant and World-Changing. I have nothing to Say. Also, I am, as all friends of KP will attest, the absolute worst at relaxing and doing something “fun” or “lite” that doesn’t somehow more important implications. I can’t even read beach fiction at the beach. Let’s face it, I have trouble lying on a beach. I feel like a schlub [a word I think I just made up] and like time’s a wastin’.
  5. Last, but not least, this blog is too dark. I’m talking about how it looks, literally. LB, we need to lighten this shit up. Give it some pizzazz. Right now it’s like jumping into a grave, aesthetically speaking.

Okay, patient readers. Time to get off the computer and recycle the miscellaneous brown/mixed paper, the one thing the city doesn’t pick up curbside. Come on City, get with it! You’re almost perfect.

11 Responses to “i’m a bad, bad bloggrrrll”


  1. 1 lb December 1, 2007 at 1:07 am

    #1 No one is too important to relax. Let this be our mantra.
    #2 why do you say IS not IC?
    #3 I’m all for a different colour. Almost did it my own self but thought that would be pushy.
    #4 being a blob is good.

  2. 2 elsie December 2, 2007 at 1:19 am

    Hey KP, I think the City does now pick up misc. paper. Box board goes with the cardboard and the other junk goes into a paper bag and set out in the bin. I guess I could be reading the guidelines incorrectly though….

    http://www.charlottesville.org/Index.aspx?page=624

  3. 3 flailbaby December 3, 2007 at 6:06 pm

    Is this the site of the kP? If so I have heard a strange rumor that a certain someone has obtained a strange tattoo. At least that is what I heard on a construction site full of red necks. How about it?

  4. 4 ceri December 3, 2007 at 9:57 pm

    relaxing, relaxing, i love you. relaxing, relaxing, it makes me poo!

  5. 5 starrhillgirl December 4, 2007 at 2:14 am

    I’ll take over your beach-lying duties (don’t say it!) and I agree with Elsie, I put my mixed paper out in the red bin, as we do at school. Go for it.
    And, yeah, this black is fucking hard to read, yo.

  6. 6 ceri December 5, 2007 at 9:58 pm

    ClAW = Cute Ladies of Arm Wrestling?

  7. 7 the kingpin December 5, 2007 at 10:16 pm

    thanks for all the comforting recycling information. unfortunately, i think waxy cardboard (milk cartons, frozen dinner containers, e.g.) still needs to be taken to the McIntire center. I could be wrong , though!

    CLAW stands for Charlottesville Ladies Arm Wrestling. Are you in? Is it even up to you? I’m comin’ for you….

  8. 8 starrhillgirl December 7, 2007 at 3:20 am

    Waxy cardboard (aka milk cartons, giant containers for Goldfish™) cannot be recycled at all – too waxy. Use plastic or glass for your milk and Goldfish™ needs.
    Teh New Layout? Looks just like one from another blog I read – and I thought the pic was from the city the blogger lives in . Poor me.

  9. 9 the kingpin December 7, 2007 at 4:26 am

    i love glass, but i haven’t found half-n-half in glass containers. i know, i know. make my own? quit the half and half habit? oh god, goodness hurts so bad.

  10. 10 ceri December 7, 2007 at 1:38 pm

    what drives me crazy? not being able to recycle yogurt cups. why is that, anyone? i’ve just read on our local gov. site that the plastic container needs to have “a neck.” huh? why?

  11. 11 ceri December 9, 2007 at 7:06 pm

    i like the tiny hidden smiley face.


Leave a Reply

