What Would You Spend Your Money on?

I’m interested. I think it is really interesting what people spend their money on. Some people are extreme they will buy anything in sight and others will buy nothing. Most of us fall somewhere in between. Their are certain types of things I find it very easy to spend money on. Coffee, wine, food. I find it hard to part with my cash when it comes to anything else. I like to buy local more than not but I’m not militant. There are certain stores I choose not to go into unless I’m REALLY desperate. Kmart, Wal*Mart, Starbucks.

So, What will you buy and who will you buy it from. What makes you feel guilty?

8 Responses to “What Would You Spend Your Money on?”


  1. 1 starrhillgirl November 10, 2007 at 1:33 pm

    Food (and I do this in a way that belies my income – I’ll pay good money for good food), things for my house, books, art (not as much as I’d like), music (does that fall under art?) and food – oh, already said that one.
    And yes, to the local as much as possible, for food and for other things. Corporate giants turn me off in general, although a lot of that is whim, not logic. I’ll take kmart, but leave wal-mart, but I’ll hit Rose’s before both of those – it seems almost like a 5 and dime. I won’t go to Starbucks. I won’t go to Barnes and Noble, having worked at an independent bookstore when B&N came to town, and have read in the trade papers what they go through because of B&N. I try to buy from Powell’s instead of Amazon when i book shop on line. I try to buy from small home based businesses when i buy online in general. These choices are an issue of worker’s rights for the most part: I only want to give my money to people who treat other people well – often smaller stores do a better job of this. Clearly not across the board, and I am too lazy to really research it, so sometimes it all falls to the wayside.
    I hear you with the not militant, especially after the all the food-crap I went through last year. Nothing can make an enemy out a friend faster than stridency.
    Oh, and clearly, I will also buy sperm.

  2. 2 starrhillgirl November 10, 2007 at 1:36 pm

    Oh, and shoes. I will pay to get more expensive and better shoes, because they last longer and feel better and I don’t have to buy them often. I have been too old for cheap shoes since I was 25.
    And with the food thing…. maybe I should so my own entry about this? Instead of taking up your comments.

  3. 3 the kingpin November 10, 2007 at 7:04 pm

    good question, lb. i try not to spend it whenever possible, but sometimes i joyfully spend my money on health insurance for me and my daughter, used clothes, furniture, art supplies for my daughter. new underwear for both of us. food, food, food (lb buys all the booze and coffee, thankfully). a gym membership because they have childcare and i’m an SP (that’s ‘sole parent’). donations to friends’ projects if possible. recently: an “adorable [frog-shaped] humidifier” for the child, now living in the LB’s bedroom because the child prefers the fan, even in arctic temperatures. oh, and travel. although i feel pretty crappy about supporting jet fuel. i choose visiting friends over not taking part in the JFE (that’s the Jet Fuel Economy, an acronym I just now coined). i’m with starrhillgirl on the shoe thing, but i’m lucky enough to get high quality shoes at swaps and used clothing stores, so i rarely buy new shoes. except those damn dansko clogs. people don’t tend to give these away unless they’re already worn down & holey. maybe i’ll start a business to trick out and patch holey dansko clogs. This business will be called BMCRDCY (buy my refurb-ed cool dansko clogs, yo). Starrhillgirl, you diggin my PNAs? (That’s phat new acronyms).

  4. 4 the kingpin November 10, 2007 at 7:07 pm

    want to correct a misleading sentence above: i do not joyfully pay for health insurance. no, no sirree, joy is not what i’m feeling when they take my $400/mo. with my crappy-ass $5000 deductible.

  5. 5 lb November 10, 2007 at 7:53 pm

    I am willing to edit if the gdfamp! (God Damn Fucking Acronym Making Persists)

  6. 6 ceri November 11, 2007 at 12:45 am

    i don’t feel guilty spending $9 a month to have my web site or $30 a month for my gym membership, because those purchases help keep me sane(ish). i will spend at starbucks, because as a former starbucks barista, i’ve developed a taste for the flavor and the convenience.

    i will not go to wal-mart. you’ve read the book “nickel and dimed” right?

    i love to spend money on books, music, bags, and shoes. shoes are a necessity, and sian should buy them more often! books i buy much less often than i use to because i’ve discovered how awesome the fairfax county library system is.

    i hate spending money for preschool only to find out that owen is missing like 5 fuckin’ days of school in november for so-called teacher workdays.

    i would feel guilty as hell spending big bucks to fuel a massive SUV. i will give money to various charities. that always feels worth it.

  7. 7 ceri November 11, 2007 at 12:46 am

    and i spent $7 on fancy dental floss . . . once.

  8. 8 Wistar November 17, 2007 at 4:58 am

    On buying you presents?


Leave a Reply

